What is in a name?

I’ve been asking myself this over the past few weeks as I’ve enjoyed a barrage of opinions regarding my endorsement of Conservative Independent Phillip Templeton over Republican Michael Corbin.

There have been many who have applauded my choice, thanking me for standing up for my convictions and making a difficult choice.

There have been a few who explain my folly away as a transgression of youth.

And there have been a handful who have been rude and intolerant of anything but their own opinion on the matter.

I have been the recipient of some nasty e-mails, comments, and letters.

I have been kicked out of the Professional Women’s Republican Club.

My picture has been removed from the Louisiana Federation of Republican Women’s Website.

I have been blatantly ignored by those I thought were my friends.

And you know what?

I don’t regret it.

I made a choice, an informed, well thought out choice. I chose to do the right thing over the easy thing. I chose to follow my conscience instead of the crowd.

But I wonder…

What has made the people who antagonize me over this choice forget that Republican is just a name? That it is a person’s convictions, policies,  and actions that make them a Conservative, not the letter (or lack thereof) behind their name on the ballot?

Its like they forgot about the RINOs who got us into the mess of having a Democratic Congress.

There is a reason the TEA Party and other movements have threatened to break up the Republican Party- its because we keep forgetting that being a REAL conservative is more important than being registered a certain way! Its because Republicans get elected and immediately forget to vote like they are Republicans! Until we decide to be CONSERVATIVES before Republicans, there is no hope for our nation.

I’ve often scoffed at people who say that they didn’t leave the Republican Party, but that the Republican Party left them behind- but I am finally starting to understand what they meant.

 

Leave a Reply

